2020 Pentecost Prayer

A year ago on this Pentecost Sunday I was leading worship in multiple languages. Although the setting is different, the prayer on this Pentecost Sunday is the same: Bring your Spirit. We need your divine power in us to see your kingdom come. This year, I am praying this prayer with tears in my eyes.

This week has been difficult. The only thing I can compare this feeling to is about how I felt about my father’s death. But I think, this is worse. It’s a death that keeps happening, a death I cannot put away into a box and visit when I am feeling sentimental or reflective.

It’s a loud, painful death that I am forced to relive over and over again . On social media, in the news, in conversations, in my future. And even though I am not alone, I am What I know is that I am not alone, I am struggling to find hope.

I have hope that God is a God of justice. The God I serve has struck down people on the spot. And he is also same God I serve is one that allowed His people to wander the wilderness for generations. I know who God is, but I haven’t seen His justice. My heart breaks once for myself and once for the heart of God.

I imagine the image of a broken piece of pottery. When you repair something, you need to hold it still so the glue can bond. But over the past few months, the glue hasn’t bonded. The pieces are barely hanging on. I wonder how I am to pour myself out as a broken vessel. I find myself investigating my faithfulness.

I remember the scene in Acts 2. Tounges of fire. Fire that burns. Fire that refines. Today, fires smolder across our country.

The fire in Acts 2 happened alongside a filling of the holy spirit. Everyone spoke in different languages and was understood.

Alongside these fires today, Lord, I pray, let your spirit fall on America. Let this fire rest on each of us. Although are states are not united, I pray that your church would be united as you and Jesus are one. Let your people cry out. Let them be understood.

Lord, let your spirit fall on me. In my speechlessness, open my lips to declare your gospel. In my brokenness, carry me to where you want me to be, act and speak against the evil with your divine blessing. With my mustard seed of faith, show me how to advance your kingdom and your justice here and now. In your holy whispers, show me a glimpse of your glory and righteousness.

Lord Jesus, this is not the life you have for us. We need your intervention. We need your holy fire. I pray that we would be bewildered as your followers were over two thousand years ago. It is for freedom we have been set free. So show us how to use this freedom.

How do you respond?

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑